Either the Beginning or the End of the World by Terry Farish

Either The Beginning Or The End Of The World by Terry Farish

I had gotten this as an ARC back in early May. This book is about 10 pages short of the final copy, so my review is from the ARC and not the final copy; just a heads up. This is my first ever book review so bare with me.

This book is about a 16 years old girl named Sofie, who lives with her father, who is a fisherman. One day, she meets a guy name Luke. Luke had came back from Afghanistan where he was a medic. He suffers from PTSD. Her father says Sofie can’t date him, but she secretly does. The story moves on to her father decide he need to go fish somewhere else for a better catch, so Sofie mother and grandmother, who she hasn’t seen in a long time, moves in with her. Her mother and grandmother are Cambodian, so Sofie gets in touch with her Cambodian roots and learns about how much Cambodian have suffered. This is pretty much the gist of the important information you need to know.

Now on to the review!!! Well first off, I would give this ARC a 3 out 5 stars because the way the book ended didn’t feel like it ended. It felt like their could have been a little more. I have read other stand alone books and they had cause me to feel fulfilled after reading it, but this ARC it just stopped at a weird place. I know an ARC stand for an Advanced Reader’s Copy, so there will be misspelling or a copy paragraph spacing problem,and I did say there was 10 pages missing from the final copy, so maybe those 10 pages could have made a difference; I just will not know. There were some questions that I had while reading it that weren’t resolved.

Although, the books have something I like. Being raised around the Cambodian culture (my grandparents were fully Chinese, but they moved to Cambodia and my parents were born in Cambodia) I was able to understand what the struggles were, since my parent had to face that. I liked how the book incorporated some Khmer words like Yiey, which means grandma. I liked how the book told a story of living under the Pol Pot and the struggle from the grandma, even though this was a fictional story, it had seem accurate from what my parents have said. Moving on to the next part of the story, romance. I felt the girl was a bit rushing into certain things. She is a 16 years old girl and so am I, but doing the “dirty” with a guy you met for less than a year is just *sigh* no, but it’s her choice. Oh well.

Overall, the book was good, but not good enough for me to recommend. If you want to read the book, you should read the book. Don’t take my opinion on it since I only have the ARC copy. Read the book if you find it interesting. Yeah, I’ll try to get some more books to read and review, but I’m busy with school and I don’t have much time to read for fun as I did when I was in middle school.

Until next time, keep reading on!!!

Alissa ^-^

Leave a Reply

