Smashburger Review

Alright guys so I’ve never had a chance eat Smashburger before and I’ve been seeing it popping up all over the city and stuff and Stephanie and figured why not go eat it? Stephanie has actually eaten here with friends a couple times so she suggested I went and tried it for myself. And so I did… and I’ll tell you all about it… (As I write this post I am still full from eating.)

So anyway we stopped at our Smashburger which happened to be right in town.

1523-Shakopee-STORE1

IMG_2344.JPG

I mean no one was really there since it was a random Wednesday and everyone was in school. First thing I noticed was that it smelled REALLY GOOD. Like not McDonald’s greasy (and I like McDonald’s) but like diner style greasy in a good way. I kind of had a plan of what to order on the menu which was really hard to choose from but I settled with a Spinach, Cucumber and Goat Cheese Burger and a big size. (Trust me you will not regret it.) I also went with some regular sized fries and a strawberry milkshake. Stephanie ordered a plan Bacon Cheeseburger with the Smashfries and a chocolate milkshake. We were then given a little stand with a number kind of like at Culver’s. We sat and waited for our food.

Screen Shot 2015-12-16 at 6.59.02 PMWoh… and when the food came (heart eyes emoji) it was glorious! OMG just look:

IMG_2350

First of, I liked how the fries were kind of skinny, but you get a a decent amount for regular sized. For the burger, it looked absolutely delicious! It was nice how it was open and you could see the goat cheese, the red onions and spinach, the tomatoes, all sandwiched between a multi-grain bun. My strawberry shake was a nice size as well for a regular too. Yum yum!

IMG_2348

Stephanie and her equally as delicious burger and chocolate shake!

IMG_2348IMG_2351

IMG_2347

As you can see we are both very happy with our food. Well first things first the taste: my burger was a little, like, done so it wasn’t as juicy as I would have liked for it to be but the tomatoes and cucumbers made out for that. The goat cheese (I’ve never had it before so I don’t know…) was a bit salty, kind of like a softer feta cheese but it added great flavor. The red onions, combined with the cheese, tomatoes, burger, and cucumbers was a complex tasting of salty, juiciness and it worked! It freaking worked! I don’t know about Stephanie’s burger, but Smashfries were fries with olive oil and some rosemary. It had a bit of a refreshing taste, almost like mint and a very garden like herby-ness to it. My regular fries were the perfect salty flavor, although I believe they flavored it with something else because this was BEYOND McDonald’s fries and I really like their fries. I was craving a strawberry milkshake (so far the DQ ones have won over my heart…) so when opportunity knocks…you take it. The portion was really good and I’m one of those people who like to dip my fries in my shake. The shake was alright for me, it tasted a little too artificial but the sweetness was on point. I’ve got a really strong sweet tooth. I still prefer the DQ one.

Overall, I give Smashburger a 4.5/5 stars. The service was nice, the food was good, (although I wish my burger was a little juicier) but the price for two people was almost $3o. FOR TWO. Then again they were good portions so… I could get a meal for 4 at McDonald’s and it’d be under $20. It’s still pretty good if you want to eat alone. It’s like a step way above McDonald’s if you feel like being fancy-ish. I highly recommend it if anyone hasn’t tried it or if you have it where you live! It will not disappoint!

-xoxo Suzane

Leave a Reply

