Review: Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments

THIS BLOG CONTAINS SPOILERS.

Alright homies, got a show review for you and this one is very promising…

Okay, so for those of you who may keep in check with the news, Freeform, formally known as ABC Family, debuted its new name on January 12th as well as debuting their new show Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments. WOW. Let me tell you there is promise for this show. I watched the first 2 episodes online and I am excited for more. Sucks that it’s only 13 episodes, but hopefully there will be enough views and rating for this show to come back with a 2nd season. Maybe it’ll be so good, the whole book will possibly be made into a show. As a huge reader, I read the entire series and I ADORED it. I was excited that The City of Bones was going to be made into a movie, but let’s be honest here: it was crap. It had nothing to do with the book, (well parts of the movie) and the only person who I thought was great in the movie was Jamie Campbell who played Jace Wayland and Godfrey Gao who played Magnus Bane. Other then that, the movie disappointed me. Since it’s a show now, hopefully they’ll go more into depth with it.

First off the main cast (as seen in episodes 1 and 2): I’d like to say the casting for the show is ON POINT.

Katherine McNamara as Clary Fray: I think Katherine made a GREAT Clary. I mean some people may not like her, but I think she’s great. Besides the red hair that Clary is known for, she kept in tune with the character in my opinion and I think even though she isn’t very well known in the acting scene yet, this show is surely going to boost her. Loving her so far.

Dominic Sherwood as Jace Wayland: In the movie, I actually liked Jamie Campbell. He looked more like Jace in my opinion. Well, that was how I imagined him, but I am NOT complaining about Dominic playing Jace. He’s so charming! I wish he was a little bit more of a flirt and cocky like Jace was in the book, but I think he’s getting there with Clary. He’s HOT too by the way. If that isn’t a good enough reason for you to watch it. You should now. VERY HOT.

Alberto Rosende as Simon Lewis: Simon is actually one of my favorites because he acts just like Simon in the book and he is just how I pictured him. He’s adorable! He’s kind of nerdy like Simon and always talking about his band. Even the way he acts around Clary (he has a secret crush on her if you haven’t read the books) is on point. I can’t wait to see how his relationship with Isabelle plays out as well. He acts all nervous and tongue tied around her just like in the books and it’s so magical…

Matthew Daddario as Alec Lightwood: Alec was a lot more manlier than I imagined him to be, but he acts the way I pictured him in the books. He’s kind of that brother who always has to go by the book on everything and basically acts as a killjoy. He even acts all skeptical around Clary and Simon (mostly Simon). I’m so ready for him to meet Magnus (Malec). I ship them so hard. In the first 2 episodes, he’s a very stern guy who seems to zap the fun out of everyone because he doesn’t want to cause trouble, but I can’t wait to see his guard drop around Magnus. MALEC.

Emeraude Toubia as Isabelle Lightwood: Honestly, Isabelle is my favorite book to show character (Simon being second). I loved the casting choice! She’s gorgeous and she’s sassy and sexy just like Isabelle. She has the dangerous side of her that makes Simon so attracted to her. Like, words cannot express how happy I am with the casting choice, I’m serious. PERFECTION. The first episode was impressive though. They got her whip just right too. In the books, her whip is alway coiled around her wrist like a bracelet. I’m waiting for the next episodes to see Simon and Isabelle grow closer!

Isaiah Mustafa as Luke Garroway: Luke, I thought, was a great father figure to Clary in the novel and I love the casting! Can’t wait to see him go wolf mode. Well, there were hints of it in the first episode. Isaiah, so far, has made a great job portraying  Luke. I kind of like how they get straight to the point with the relationship between Luke and Jocelyn, but I would have liked it if they would have slowed things down. However, I’m excited to see him more as the series goes on!

Harry Shum Jr. as Magnus Bane: OMG!! MY FAVORITE CHARACTER!!! Even though he hasn’t officially appeared, in episode 1, he’s shown in Pandemonium chillin’ and when Clary bumps into him on accident. He’s also shown briefly talking with Dot and also in a flashback in which he takes Clary’s memories. Okay…because I have a HUGE crush on Godfrey Gao…like, HUGE HUGE crush…I thought he made a great and AMAZING Magnus Bane even though he had a small amount of screen time…but I was elated when Harry Shun Jr. was going to be Magnus Bane. I was freaking out because the rest of the cast was already chosen but NO MAGNUS BANE. I wanted, NEEDED someone to take over the role. I wanted someone to be the PERFECT Magnus Bane. Anyway, Harry won me over when he posted a picture of himself in the Magnus Bane gear on Instagram. I was done. I was like, “That’s it. You have Magnus. I can now die happy.” Okay, not my exact words, but I almost cried, I was so happy. Freaking excited for him and Alec to meet! I wonder if they will go with the books and do the scene where they search for Magnus at his party so that he could return Clary’s memories. That’s where Alec and Magnus kind of officially meet. I wonder if in episode 3 he will appear.

Episodes 1 and 2:

Throughout the 1st episode, I noticed some things for me, personally, that were a lot different than I imagined them. It was nice though to see how they were interpreted in the eyes of other people though. The Pandemonium Club was pretty much the same for me. Just a loud bustling club with lots of music. I imagined it kind of like a usual club. New York is New York so for me the setting was pretty nice. The most dramatic thing that I had to take in was the Institute. OH WOW. Basically, when I imagined the Institute, it was kind of like a large building, kind go gothic style. The interior, I imagined it like old. Like, medieval almost. It was also a bit more spacious with large grand stairways. I also imagined it with like a few inhabitants… Seeing the Institute in the show was so weird…Good weird. It was smaller than I had imagined it. Also, for Shadowhunters, they are well equipped with some high tech stuff. That was kind of the shock factor for me.

Moving onto the 2nd episode, everything was continuing on. Clary had to find and save her mom and figure out the part of her life she’s been missing. Another shock factor: The City of Bones. Okay, I may be a little rusty so correct me if I’m wrong, but  in the book the City of Bones was described as being underground-ish? Yeah, I imagined it as pretty epic and like an ancient underground cathedral. The inside of the City of Bones’s interior was pretty much exactly how I imagined it. ON POINT as I would say (I have said it a lot as well). OMG. The Silent Brother. I don’t know what to say. They were PERFECT. The Silent Brother’s aren’t really meant to be all that appealing, facially. They’re eyes and mouth are sewn shut and they “speak” by using their mind. I was just watching it and a little freaked out, but good freaked out. The voice of the Silent Brother was a little too over the top for me. I imagined it as a low and quiet voice, but still very chilling.

Basically I am ready for Tuesday to come so I can watch the next episode. I am so excited that Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments is getting another hit at this. The series is mind glowingly amazing if you have not had a chance to dive into it. Cassandra Clare is an outstanding writer and an absolutely amazing person for creating this series. I literally CANNOT wait.

I also can’t wait for Malec to happen. Let’s be honest here: I know you guys ship it too…

-xoxo Suzane

Leave a Reply

