How to Clear Up Most of Your Acne

Acne…

We’ve all had it right? (If you haven’t you’re lucky and I envy you.) I suffered from really bad acne starting from the seventh grade. It got to the point where every pimple I had would scar my face. Most of it has cleared up now, but around that time of the month, I sometimes get one or two annoying pimples on my forehead. Although most of my acne is completely cleared up, I want to share some tips on how to clear up your acne, as well as tips on how to keep it at bay.

TIPS:

  • I know most girls like to wear make up and there is nothing wrong with that, but if your acne prone, you may want to lighten up on the make up. It’s best to wear it every other day. You got to let your face breath. Try to go bare face or keep it steady on the foundation.
  • Also relating to the make up thing, do wash your make up brushes. Your brushes can get caked with foundation from previous uses and the oils on your skin. Gross enough, it can create a breeding ground for bacteria. Wash your brushes whenever you’re using make up. Just let them soak in warm water and a little bit of your facial cleanser.
  • And another tip for those dealing with acne and loving make up: WASH YOUR FACE. I know there are times when you’re just too lazy to remove your makeup, but your face with suffer. Not removing your make up means your foundation will clog your pores. You will wake up with acne and you will HATE IT. Oil cleansers are excellent when it comes to a squeaky clean face.
  • Exfoliating isn’t just for getting rid of dead skin cells. It helps to unclog pores so that your skin can breath and feel refreshed! Make sure to exfoliate 2-3 times a week to keep your skin fresh and unclogged.
  • If you have acne prone skin, you may want to try using a cleanser with either salicylic acid or benzoyl peroxide to help clean out your pores and kill the bacteria that some times might cause acne.
  • Make sure to wash your face twice a day! Just like brushing your teeth, you want to make sure your face is squeaky clean so, like I mentioned before, your pores don’t get clogged and you end up with a pesky little pimple on your face.
  • If you’re acne is bad to the point where it ruins your self-confidence, you should probably head to a dermatologist. After suffering from really bad acne for three years, my friend gave me the idea to go to a dermatologist. After telling her my skin problems, she gave me some acne medication. Within a few weeks, I noticed the change my skin was showing. I started to have more confidence in myself. Now, I usually get small pimples, but they’re not enough to scar my face and they usually go away.
  • Do not pop your pimples. We all know this rule and of course it makes sense! Popping pimples not only causes scarring, but it can spread the pus and bacteria to other pores causing them to clog up as well.
  • Try to avoid touching your face. Unless your hands are clean, you should avoid touching your face. Every day, you tend to touch random things, and I don’t know if you wash your hands often or not, but you really don’t want to touch your face. Bacteria could rub off onto your skin and into your pores. That’s a no no.

 

I could have added more tips, but I can’t think of any at the moment. These are just based off my personal tips and ideas. I hope this tips help to quell your acne problems. It took me three years, but hopefully you guys can find other ways to help reduce acne problems. Until then!

-xoxo Suzane

*Also, stay tuned for our Spring Fashion post coming soon! 😀 Really looking forward to that!

 

 

Leave a Reply

